Bronze Medal Award

Bronze Medal Award
Picture by S & J Perkins
Janet Killeen's Bronze Medal Award

The Bronze Medal Award is the highest award the Massachusetts Chapter can bestow on one of its members. This award honors a member's outstanding long term contributions to the Chapter. The Honors Committee is responsible for nominating award recipients.

Massachusetts Chapter Bronze Medalists
Leo Blanchette accepting the Bronze Medal Award from Charles Patterson
2003 Joe Bruso
2003 Jim Philips
2003 Betty Carlhian
2002 Susan Clark
2002 Peter Littlefield
2002 Lorry Roeder
2001 Sally Perkins
2001 John Perkins
2001 George Hibben
2000 Josephine Coleman
2000 Ian Donovan
2000 Geraldine Molis
2000 Bob Doig
2000 Cathy Doig
1999 Charles Patterson
1999 Claire Smith
1999 Barbara Gingras
1999 Bill Sweeney
1998 Fred Knippel
1998 Leo Blanchette
1998 Janet Killeen
1997 Ted Kellogg
1997 Marcia Mitchell
1996 C. J. Patterson
1996 Jim Craddock
1995 Henry Wrightington
1995 Barbara Wrightington
1995 Henk Borsje
1995 Anne Reisch
1994 Peggy Lawson
1993 Mike Medeiros
1992 Edward Brown
1992 Peg Brown
1992 Joe Parks
1992 Wayne Mezitt
1990 Laura Nichols
1990 John Quinn
1989 Richard Chaikin
1988 Robert Fox
1988 Beatrice MacDonald
1987 Bruno Falanga
1987 Richard Leonard
1985 Virginia Craig
1984 Jane Brooks
1983 Jonathan Shaw
1981 Richard Brooks
1980 Andrew Paton
1980 Dorothy Swift
1979 Max Resnick
1977 Jack Cowles
1977 Eveleth Cowles
1976 Louis Cook
1974 Elinor Clarke
1974 Edmund Mezitt

The Gold Medal Award and Silver Medal Award are awarded by the American Rhododendron Society to honor a member's outstanding long term contributions to the Society or the genus Rhododendron on a Society-wide or Distinct-wide basis, respectively.

A. Richard Brooks

You have been of immense value to our Society over many years serving at all possible levels. You conceived and nourished formation of the Massachusetts Chapter, now one of the largest in the A R S. You have also given guidance to other chapters during their difficult first steps. You have been undaunting in your support of the society at the national level serving as President and as a member on many committees. Our Society has benefited on many occasions from your diplomatic talents in mediating delicate situations. In your quiet and determined way, you helped opposing parties work out their difference and find solutions. You have always kept a strong focus on growth of the A R S at the national and internation level by looking for opportunities to speak, write and publish information about rhododendrons and by demonstrating how to make new members feel welcome. All those who have worked with you or were touched by your generosity, genuine friendliness and enthusiasm, have unequivocally expressed their support to recognize you as one who has truly advanced our Society. For your many accomplishments, the American Rhododendron Society is proud to award the Gold Medal to A. Richard Brooks, Niagara Falls, Canada, May 30, 1998.

Massachusetts Chapter Gold and Silver Medalists

1998 Richard Brooks Gold
1992 Jack Cowles Silver
1990 Polly Hill Gold
1980 Edmund Mezitt Gold

Home Schedule Activities Join